The Grandi’s series and the 1 − 2 + 3 − 4 + ··· infinite series are both found in my extended Pascal’s Triangle

Everyone who knows how to make the Pascal’s triangle would be familiar with the obvious simple rule that governs its structure:  the number below is the sum of the two numbers above it.  Thus, we have the top numbers as:               1

So, I figured that if I use this simple rule, I might be able to extend the Pascal’s triangle upwards, like for example finding the two numbers on top of the apex number, which is 1.   

2

So, when I looked at the apex number, I had a problem of whether to use  0 + 1 = 1  or 1 + 0 =1.  Ultimately, I used the former (although, you can use either because using the latter (i.e. 1 + 0) will generate a mirror extended Pascal’s triangle to what I’m going to show you): 

4

Next, I reverse-engineered both the 0 and 1 on top of the apex.  I started with the latter with this:

6

Then, I continued with this:

7

Following all the above rules, I came up with this extended Pascal’s triangle below on top of the original Pascal’s triangle (the ones in the yellow-colored boxes):

h

Did you find the Grandi’s series and the 1 − 2 + 3 − 4 + ··· infinite series in my extended Pascal’s triangle yet?  Well, here’s the Grandi’s series:

b

And here’s the 1 − 2 + 3 − 4 + ··· infinite series below:

c

I also noticed that each of the numbers in the Grandi’s series are aligned with the prime numbers in the original Pascal’s triangle :

d And, as you might have already guessed, the 1 − 2 + 3 − 4 + ··· infinite series is also aligned with the original Pascal’s triangle’s composite numbers:

 

Leave a comment